News & Calendar

DECEMBER 2020

 

 We are accepting students in grades 6, 7, and 8 for the 20-21 school year.

 

If you are interested in a program that allows your student the freedom and flexibility of working from home Westside Academy may be the place for you.  

 

Please email me at the address below if you would like to learn more about our program.

t.morreale@westside.k12.ca.us  


NEWS  NEWS

Our winter break begins December 21.  School will resume on January 11, 2021.  


 

Remember, students should be logging in to the PEAK program and working THREE-FOUR hours in the online curriculum DAILY. 

 

Benchmarks for December:

 

Students must be at 100% completion in all classes by December 14, at 7:00 a.m.  That means students should reach 100% progress by 7:00 a.m. December 14 with all assignments for all classes completed and submitted by that time.  

 

 

 

School Attendance

Students must check into the program every day by 10:00 a.m. in order to be counted present for the day. 

 

  

Remember:

Check PowerSchool Weekly

Log in and check progress and assignments in PEAK

 

To check your child's current progress please follow the steps below:

1.        Have your child log into their PEAK account and open each class to its home page.

2.       Click on the header that reads “Progress.”

3.       Scroll down the page to “Content (Required and Optional Topics)”

a.       This will tell you your child’s progress in that particular subject.

b.       Check the CALENDAR on our website to see what the current pace/benchmark is for the week.

 

To check your students grades they have earned on the assignments they have submitted, please follow the steps below:

1.       Have your child log into their PEAK account and open each class to its home page.

2.       Click on the header that reads “Grades”

            a.  This will show all of the assignments that they have submitted and all of the assignments that are missing.

 

 

 

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 27
Mon, Dec 28
Tue, Dec 29
Wed, Dec 30
Thu, Dec 31
Fri, Jan 1
Sat, Jan 2
Sun, Jan 3
Mon, Jan 4
Tue, Jan 5
Wed, Jan 6
Thu, Jan 7
Fri, Jan 8
Sat, Jan 9
Sun, Jan 10
Mon, Jan 11
Tue, Jan 12
Wed, Jan 13
Thu, Jan 14
Fri, Jan 15
Sat, Jan 16
Sun, Jan 17
Mon, Jan 18
Tue, Jan 19
Wed, Jan 20
Thu, Jan 21
Fri, Jan 22
Sat, Jan 23
Sun, Jan 24
Mon, Jan 25
Tue, Jan 26
Wed, Jan 27
Thu, Jan 28
Fri, Jan 29
Sat, Jan 30
Sun, Jan 31
Mon, Feb 1
Tue, Feb 2
Wed, Feb 3
Thu, Feb 4
Fri, Feb 5
Sat, Feb 6

P.E. at Westside Academy

PE letters with sports equipment

Students are responsible for completing 400 minutes of physical activity every two weeks. This includes students who are on home study. This averages out to 40 minutes per school day. Students are responsible for filling out and returning their P.E. verification log. These logs are available in class, or students can download the form by CLICKING HERE. Each log is worth 10 points and counts towards the PE grade.

 

 

Current Benchmark Completion Rates

Colored Meter/Gauge

Students should make sure that ALL assignments in a unit have a green checkmark before moving on to the next unit. You can also see completion rates on the weekly progress reports that are emailed home. Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. They should pick up where they left off at school. The website URL is http://peak.getfueled.com.

 


 

Students and parents can find completion information in the weekly information that is emailed from PEAK as well as on the home page of the student's class (look at the progress bar). Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. Students should make sure that all assignments have a green check mark before moving to the next assignment.

 

Parent Conferences

 If you would like to schedule a parent conference, please call us at 206-3711.  If you are unable to attend a conference, but would still like to speak to Mr. Morreale, a telephone conference can be arranged.  

 

School Lunches

Get in the game with school lunch

Remember that the meal applications on file from last year only carry over for the first month of school. This gives time for you to submit your application and get it approved.

Those families who do not turn in an application for the current school year will be removed from the meal program. Parents are responsible for any fees incurred for lunches after the approval expires, so be sure and turn in your application as soon as possible!

You can apply for the meal program online at http://www.wusdnutrition.com. You can find out more about pre-paying for your child's meals at http://www.mypaymentsplus.com.

 

Westside Academy is Open for new Students

Open Enrollment Apply for Westside Academy

We currently have spots available at Westside Academy. Remember that we fill up early in the year, so enroll now to ensure your space!