News & Calendar

FEBRUARY 2018


We’ve got lots happening this month.


Remember, there will be no school on Monday, February 19th in observance of President’s Day.


Although the students work very hard every day that they are in class, they should be logging on and working for a minimum of ONE HOUR everyday at HOME after school.

The web address for the students to access the curriculum is:

Peak.getfueled.com

Benchmarks for February:

Students need to complete 6% progress in each course per week. Please see the benchmark chart below to help your child monitor their progress expectations.

DATE

ALL SUBJECTS

2-2

24%

2-9

30%

2-16

36%

2-23

42%

3-2

48%


If you need assistance understanding your child’s progress, please do not hesitate to contact me at 206-3711 or at t.morreale@westside.k12.ca.us


PE Sheets are due on the following dates:

February 2nd and on February 16th. These count towards the student’s PE grade.


School Spirit Days

All students may participate in School Spirit Days. Please remember that all students must adhere to the Westside Union School District dress code.

February 9th -- Denim Day

February 23rd -- Free Dress



Current Benchmark Completion Rates

Benchmark

All students should check to make sure they have done ALL assignments in each lesson. They can do this by clicking on the "OVERDUE" section of the progress area on the top, front page of Language Arts. Once that is clicked, it will give students a listing of all folders and the assignments that are included. If you click on Unit 1 and Unit 2, there will be a green checkmark next to the items that are complete. If there is no checkmark, it means the student skipped that assignment. Students should make sure that ALL assignments in a unit have a green checkmark before moving on to the next unit. You can also see completion rates on the weekly progress reports that are emailed home. Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. They should pick up where they left off at school. The website URL is http://peak.getfueled.com.


DATEALL SUBJECTS
1-126%
1-1912%
1-2618%
2-224%
2-930%
2-1636%
2-2342%
3-248%
3-954%
3-1660%
4-666%
4-1372%
4-2078%
4-2784%
5-490%
5-11Test Week
5-1896%
5-28100%



Students and parents can find completion information in the weekly information that is emailed from PEAK as well as on the home page of the student's class (look at the progress bar). Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. Students should make sure that all assignments have a green check mark before moving to the next assignment.


School Lunches

School Lunch

Please CLICK HERE to download a PDF with more information on how to apply for the meal program. Remember that the meal applications on file from last year only carry over for the first month of school. This gives time for you to submit your application and get it approved.

Those families who do not turn in an application for the 17-18 school year will be removed from the meal program. Parents are responsible for any fees incurred for lunches after the approval expires, so be sure and turn in your application as soon as possible!

You can apply for the meal program online at http://www.wusdnutrition.com. You can find out more about pre-paying for your child's meals at http://www.mypaymentsplus.com.


P.E. at Westside Academy

physical education

Students are responsible for completing 400 minutes of physical activity every two weeks. This includes students who are on home study. This averages out to 40 minutes per school day. Students are responsible for filling out and returning their P.E. verification log every two weeks. These logs are available in class, or students can download the form by CLICKING HERE. Each log is worth 10 points and counts towards the PE grade.



Back to school icon

Our Back-to-School presentation was Tuesday, September 5th from 5:00-6:00. If you were unable to attend, we encourage you to contact us. We can set up a time for us to meet to review the program and to discuss your child's progress.


STATE TESTING

MAY 7-11

Our students will be taking the state tests May 7-11. It is very important that your child be in attendance EVERY DAY during this week in May.

Westside Academy is Open for new Students

Open Enrollment

We currently have spots available at Westside Academy. Remember that we fill up early in the year, so enroll now to ensure your space!



Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jan 28
Mon, Jan 29
Tue, Jan 30
Wed, Jan 31
Thu, Feb 1
Fri, Feb 2
Sat, Feb 3
Sun, Feb 4
Mon, Feb 5
Tue, Feb 6
Wed, Feb 7
Thu, Feb 8
Fri, Feb 9
Sat, Feb 10
Sun, Feb 11
Mon, Feb 12
Tue, Feb 13
Wed, Feb 14
Thu, Feb 15
Fri, Feb 16
Sat, Feb 17
Sun, Feb 18
Tue, Feb 20
Wed, Feb 21
Thu, Feb 22
Fri, Feb 23
Sat, Feb 24
Sun, Feb 25
Mon, Feb 26
Tue, Feb 27
Wed, Feb 28
Thu, Mar 1
Sat, Mar 3

Home

Powered by Finalsite