News & Calendar

May/June 2021

 

 We are accepting students in grades  7, and 8 for the 2021-22 school year.

 

 

Our campus is now open to in-person learning!  If you would like for your child to attend class in-person two days a week, please reply to this email so that we can schedule a time for them to attend. 

 

I have included the Progress Chart to reflect the progress your child should be at in each of their classes by the listed date.   Please see below for specific instructions on how to monitor your child’s grades and progress within the Peak program. 

 

Students should be spending 3-4 hours working in the curriculum per day. 

 

The web address for the students to access the curriculum is: 

Peak.getfueled.com

If you are interested in a program that allows your student the freedom and flexibility of working from home Westside Academy may be the place for you.  

 

Please email me at the address below if you would like to learn more about our program.

t.morreale@westside.k12.ca.us  


NEWS  NEWS

 

 Please see the benchmark chart below to help your child monitor their progress expectations.      



 

Remember:

Check PowerSchool Weekly

 

Login and check progress and assignments in PEAK at Peak.getfueled.com 


 

Students should be spending 3-4 hours working in the curriculum per day. 

 

The web address for the students to access the curriculum is: 

Peak.getfueled.com





 

How to Check Grades and Progress in PEAK

To check the GRADES a student has earned on the assignments they have submitted, please follow the steps below:

1.   Have your child log into their PEAK account and open each class.

2.   Click on the header that reads “Grades”

a. This will show all of the assignments that they have submitted and all of the assignments that are missing.

B.  Any assignments that have been skipped, must be made up immediately.

 

To check a student’s CURRENT PROGRESS please follow the steps below:

1.   Have your child log into their PEAK account and open each class.

2.   Click on the header that reads “Progress.”

3.   Scroll down the page to “Content (Required and Optional Topics)”

a.   This will tell you your child’s progress in that particular subject.

b.   Compare their progress against the chart below which shows the current week’s pace/benchmark.

 

DATE

ALL SUBJECTS

1-15

6%

1-22

11%

1-29

17%

2-5

23%

2-12

29%

2-19

34%

2-26

40%

3-5

45%

3-12

51%

3-19

56%

3-26

56%

4-2

56%

4-9

61%

4-16

66%

4-23

72%

4-30

78%

5-7

84%

5-14

84%

5-21

90%

5-28

95%

5/31 7am close

100%

 

 

 

 

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 26
Mon, Sep 27
Tue, Sep 28
Wed, Sep 29
Thu, Sep 30
Fri, Oct 1
Sat, Oct 2
Sun, Oct 3
Mon, Oct 4
Tue, Oct 5
Wed, Oct 6
Thu, Oct 7
Fri, Oct 8
Sat, Oct 9
Sun, Oct 10
Mon, Oct 11
Tue, Oct 12
Wed, Oct 13
Thu, Oct 14
Fri, Oct 15
Sat, Oct 16
Sun, Oct 17
Mon, Oct 18
Tue, Oct 19
Wed, Oct 20
Thu, Oct 21
Fri, Oct 22
Sat, Oct 23
Sun, Oct 24
Mon, Oct 25
Tue, Oct 26
Wed, Oct 27
Thu, Oct 28
Fri, Oct 29
Sat, Oct 30
Sun, Oct 31
Mon, Nov 1
Tue, Nov 2
Wed, Nov 3
Thu, Nov 4
Fri, Nov 5
Sat, Nov 6

P.E. at Westside Academy

PE letters with sports equipment

Students are responsible for completing 400 minutes of physical activity every two weeks. This includes students who are on home study. This averages out to 40 minutes per school day. Students are responsible for filling out and returning their P.E. verification log. These logs are available in class, or students can download the form by CLICKING HERE. Each log is worth 10 points and counts towards the PE grade.

 

 

Current Benchmark Completion Rates

Colored Meter/Gauge

Students should make sure that ALL assignments in a unit have a green checkmark before moving on to the next unit. You can also see completion rates on the weekly progress reports that are emailed home. Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. They should pick up where they left off at school. The website URL is http://peak.getfueled.com.

 


 

Students and parents can find completion information in the weekly information that is emailed from PEAK as well as on the home page of the student's class (look at the progress bar). Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. Students should make sure that all assignments have a green check mark before moving to the next assignment.

 

Parent Conferences

 If you would like to schedule a parent conference, please call us at 206-3711.  If you are unable to attend a conference, but would still like to speak to Mr. Morreale, a telephone conference can be arranged.  

 

School Lunches

Get in the game with school lunch

Remember that the meal applications on file from last year only carry over for the first month of school. This gives time for you to submit your application and get it approved.

Those families who do not turn in an application for the current school year will be removed from the meal program. Parents are responsible for any fees incurred for lunches after the approval expires, so be sure and turn in your application as soon as possible!

You can apply for the meal program online at http://www.wusdnutrition.com. You can find out more about pre-paying for your child's meals at http://www.mypaymentsplus.com.

 

Westside Academy is Open for new Students

Open Enrollment Apply for Westside Academy

We currently have spots available at Westside Academy. Remember that we fill up early in the year, so enroll now to ensure your space!