News & Calendar

MAY & JUNE 2018

May 7-11 STATE TESTING

All students MUST be at school.


May 28-School Closed for Memorial Day


Benchmarks for May:

Students need to reach 100% progress by May 29.


PE Sheets are due on the following dates:

May 11th and 25th. These count towards the student’s PE grade.


School Spirit Days

All students may participate in School Spirit Days. Please remember that all students must adhere to the Westside Union School District dress code.

May 11-School Spirit Day FREE DRESS

May 25-School Spirit Day HAWAIIAN DAY


Promotion Activities

Graduation Dance June 4th 6-8 pm @ JOE WALKER

Promotion Practice June 4th and 5th

All 8th grade students report to PM class June 4&5

All 6th and 7th graders report to AM class June 4, 5, 6,7

8th Grade Promotion JUNE 6 JW gym Doors open at 1:00 p.m.


Current Benchmark Completion Rates

Colored Meter/Gauge

All students should check to make sure they have done ALL assignments in each lesson. They can do this by clicking on the "OVERDUE" section of the progress area on the top, front page of Language Arts. Once that is clicked, it will give students a listing of all folders and the assignments that are included. If you click on Unit 1 and Unit 2, there will be a green checkmark next to the items that are complete. If there is no checkmark, it means the student skipped that assignment. Students should make sure that ALL assignments in a unit have a green checkmark before moving on to the next unit. You can also see completion rates on the weekly progress reports that are emailed home. Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. They should pick up where they left off at school. The website URL is http://peak.getfueled.com.


 

DATE ALL SUBJECTS
1-12 6%
1-19 12%
1-26 18%
2-2 24%
2-9 30%
2-16 36%
2-23 42%
3-2 48%
3-9 54%
3-16 60%
4-6 66%
4-13 72%
4-20 78%
4-27 84%
5-4 90%
5-11 Test Week
5-18 96%
5-29 100%

 

 

Students and parents can find completion information in the weekly information that is emailed from PEAK as well as on the home page of the student's class (look at the progress bar). Remember that students should be continuing to work on their lessons from home. Students should make sure that all assignments have a green check mark before moving to the next assignment.

 

School Lunches

Get in the game with school lunch

Remember that the meal applications on file from last year only carry over for the first month of school. This gives time for you to submit your application and get it approved.

Those families who do not turn in an application for the 17-18 school year will be removed from the meal program. Parents are responsible for any fees incurred for lunches after the approval expires, so be sure and turn in your application as soon as possible!

You can apply for the meal program online at http://www.wusdnutrition.com. You can find out more about pre-paying for your child's meals at http://www.mypaymentsplus.com.

 

P.E. at Westside Academy

PE letters with sports equipment

Students are responsible for completing 400 minutes of physical activity every two weeks. This includes students who are on home study. This averages out to 40 minutes per school day. Students are responsible for filling out and returning their P.E. verification log every two weeks. These logs are available in class, or students can download the form by CLICKING HERE. Each log is worth 10 points and counts towards the PE grade.

 

 

STATE TESTING

MAY 7-11

Our students will be taking the state tests May 7-11. It is very important that your child be in attendance EVERY DAY during this week in May.

Westside Academy is Open for new Students

Open Enrollment Apply for Westside Academy

We currently have spots available at Westside Academy. Remember that we fill up early in the year, so enroll now to ensure your space!

 

 

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 27
Tue, May 29
Wed, May 30
Thu, May 31
Fri, Jun 1
Sat, Jun 2
Sun, Jun 3
Mon, Jun 4
Tue, Jun 5
Wed, Jun 6
8th Grade Graduation
-
Joe Walker MS Gymnasium
Fri, Jun 8
Sat, Jun 9
Sun, Jun 10
Mon, Jun 11
Tue, Jun 12
Wed, Jun 13
Thu, Jun 14
Fri, Jun 15
Sat, Jun 16
Sun, Jun 17
Mon, Jun 18
Tue, Jun 19
Wed, Jun 20
Thu, Jun 21
Fri, Jun 22
Sat, Jun 23
Sun, Jun 24
Mon, Jun 25
Tue, Jun 26
Wed, Jun 27
Thu, Jun 28
Fri, Jun 29
Sat, Jun 30